Musky inspired

There’s suprinsingly few flies for pike you see that look to american flies for Musky. Sure there’s bits and pieces like reversed bucktail being used, but that’s more of a saltwater hollow fley Bob Popovich style. So I’ve been starting to look around a bit on Musky patterns, there aren’t that many original patterns to be found online, but there’s a few names that come up where ever you go looking. One is Brad Bohen and his patterns The Buford and the Hang time. So last night I decided to try me a little variant of the Buford pattern.

It’s a very classic musky pattern featuring bucktail and sadle feathers as its main materials. I didn’t have the right colors of Sadle feathers so I ended up using barred Schlappen feathers instead.

The idea is to fish it on an intermediate or faster sinking line to draw in under the surface and to have the big buctail head make all sorts of “noise” under the water and make it skip irregularly from side to side and up and down.

Hook: Partridge Ultimate predator X 6/0
Thread: Veevus 6/0
Tails: Two yellow barred schlappen feathers and Sybai tinsel hair
Body: Bucktail, orange and yellow barred schlappen and Sybai tinsel hair
Head: Butt end of bucktail, spun and clipped down.

I don’t pack the head very hard, and I don’t clip it down very neat either, just like on the original Brad Bohen fly, I don’t want it to be super buoyant, my intermediate line  need to be able to get it down a bit.

s_IMG_8055

About Ulf Hagström

Fly fishing, fly tying, family and going your own way; the way of the fly. View all posts by Ulf Hagström

2 responses to “Musky inspired

  • Big Pike Flies

    Ulf-
    I would look at my flies. I feel you are better of in making your streamers bigger than the direction you have taken. The style of fly you have has very little swimming action to it and throws like a big wet sock. My flies in 13-15 inches can still be thrown with an 8 weight, They style you show is very difficult to use on an 8 and gets even worse once the deer hair has soaked full of water. Also- the intermediate will fight the deer hair to sink. Where as your typical streamers go right down.

    • Ulf Hagström

      James, thank you for your comment! I always look at all sorts of flies to get inspired and to make sure I’ve got flies tied up for all occasions and situations. I fish the brackish waters of the Baltic Sea where the different seasons demand very different approach in fly choices and style of fishing. Sometimes more slim and long streamer types of flies work good but my experience from my home waters are that flies that pushes a lot of water, has pulsating movement when hard retrieved and that can “hoover” when stopped is superior at a lot of times when the water is cold. And here the water is below 7 degrees for many months. The whole idea with using an intermediate line and a loosely tied deer hair head is to pull it down and the have the deer hair help in the hovering so to speak.

      Over the past five years I’ve gotten to fish more and more every year and I’ve come to analyses more and more what works over the season and big volume combined with movement both from synthetics and naturals like saddle feathers and hairs like Fin Rac has worked much, much better than more traditional 2d streamers for me.

      I’m not saying this musky style fly will work for me, but I like the idea of volume that pushes water combined with hovering and pulsating movement of the feathers.

      I’m gonna post up a fly soon that I tied yesterday where I’ve put all the attributes (and colors) together that has been successful for me these past years! Noting like this musky style, but not quite like a regular streamer either!

      All the best
      Ulf

Leave a Reply

